Club History

We are currently transferring as much relevant information to this new website, however, if you are looking for something you found before – please visit our old website for historical information.

Club History:

Mayfield ARLFC were formed in 1958 and took their name from the Mayfield Hotel on Albert Royds Street, Rochdale where they were based.  Rugby League was booming at this time and the Mayfield team soon established themselves as a ‘no holds barred’ set up.

After several years, with a forward looking committee in charge, the ‘Field’ relocated to the Old Bridge Inn, Oldham Road, using Balderstone Park and Springhill as their playing areas.  This move prompted an unprecedented period of domination.  Challenge Cup games against Salford and Hunslet followed and Club President Barry Edwards became BARLA’s first ever international Captain.  Mayfield won all trophy’s available and won the Pennine League 7 years in succession – resulting in the trophy being awarded to them for good!

Mayfield again moved to bigger and better facilities by entering into a ground share with the Castleton Moor cricket club, at Keswick Street and entered amateur games flagship National Conference League.  Hot and cold years followed with the now named Rochale Mayfield Challenging for honours in the top division and cups and struggling against relegation in the bottom leagues.  Throughout they developed players for Rochdale Hornets, other local professional sides and kept the flag flying for Rochdale in the Conference league.

Recent success saw Rochdale Mayfield promoted from division 2 under the guidance of Shaun Gartland, a move to our new ground at the Mayfield Sports Centre in 2006, and then to the division 1 Championship under Matt Calland and Steve Gartland, who also took them to a creditable play-off semi final berth.

Sam Butterworth is now charged with taking the club back to heights befitting of this historic and proud club. In the 2009 / 2010 the first team finished exactly mid table in the National Conference league First Division.